EMP Conference Programme

National Emergency Medicine Programme Conference

Topic Times Speakers
Registration: Tea/Coffee 10:00 – 10:30
Opening Address 10:30 – 10:45 Gerry McCarthy
Human Factors 10:45 – 11:15 Eva Doherty, Arthur Hennessy, Áine Mitchell, Jo Kelliher, Laura Melody
EMP Projects. Cahir: Fergal Hickey & Emily O’Conor
ED Workforce Planning Framework
Advanced Nurse Practitioners
Irish Children’s Triage System

Emergency Department Monitoring
Mental Health Triage
Everyone deserves a little “Therapy”
11:15 – 12:30
Liz Roche
Val Small
Bridget Conway/Ruth Devers/Mary Tumelty

Fiona McDaid
Sinead Lardener
Rosie Quin
Clinical Guidelines 12:30 – 12:45 Abel Wakai
Lunch 12:45 – 13:45
Human Factors & Inter – Agency
13:45 – 14:05 Jason van der Velde
Clinical Microsystems. Chair: Philip Crowley
Overview of Clinical Microsystems Huddles in St. Jame’s
Clinical Microsystems in Tallaght
Paediatric Emergency Department
14:05 – 14:40
Una Geary
Caitriona McGarrell
Ciara Martin
10 Priorities for resolving the crisis in
Emergency Departments
14:40 – 15:00 Cliff Mann: President of the Royal College of Emergency Medicine
Convergence of National Clinical Programmes in the
delivery of emergency care. Chair: Áine Carrol

Paediatric urgent care centres
Challenges for acute surgery
VTE pathways
The critical care team
Retrieval medicine
Complexity, challenges and opportunities for care of older people
National Clinical Advisor and Group Lead for Acute Hospitals
15:00 – 16:15

Alf Nicholson
Frank Kean
Yvonne Smyth
Michael Power
David Menzies
Diarmuid O’Shea

Colm Henry
Closing Address 16:15 – 16:30 Gerry McCarthy